December Pathfinders: DIY Gifts

It’s only the first of December, so there is still time for the whole family to make some simple Holiday gifts and decorations. This month’s pathfinder will provide you with some good sites to get inspired. There are also some great books at the Ellsworth Public Library. Stop by and check out our selection of DIY gift books.

Kids

Who doesn’t like giant marshmallows? Here’s a site that will help you turn them into a fun gift.

A&J Cake and Candy -Seasonal Ideas-Marshmallow Buddies: http://www.ajcake.com/marsh.html

Show your family how much you love them with this card:

A Day In My Life: This Much Card and a Kid Canvas http://tiffkeetch.blogspot.com/2010/06/this-much-card-and-kid-canvas.html

Image from:  flickr.com

Image from: flickr.com

Check out these sites for lots of gifts to make for your friends and family:

Christmas Gifts Kids Can Make: http://spoonful.com/christmas/homemade-christmas-gifts/christmas-gifts-kids-can-make

40 Last-Minute Christmas Gift Ideas:  http://spoonful.com/christmas/last-minute-christmas-gift-ideas-gallery

 

Teens

You don’t need to know how to knit or crochet to make a scarf.  Here are two alternative options:

Make a Ringlet T-shirt Scarf for Fall: http://www.kevinandamanda.com/whatsnew/crafts-projects/make-this-quick-n-easy-ringlet-t-shirt-scarf.html

DIY: How to Make a We Are Owls Inspired Poem Script Scarf: http://www.stamp48.com/2011/07/11/diy-how-to-make-a-we-are-owls-inspired-poem-script-scarf/

Image from:  flickr.com

Image from: flickr.com

If you know how to sew, here’s an easy gift idea:

Molly’s Sketchbook: The Twenty Minute Tote: http://www.purlbee.com/the-purl-bee/2010/5/7/mollys-sketchbook-the-twenty-minute-tote.html

This project would take some time and thought, but the results are amazing.  Transform a 6 second audio clip into wearable art!

Waveform Necklace and Bracelet: http://www.instructables.com/id/Waveform-Necklace-Bracelet/?ALLSTEPS

Take a photo, ticket stub, or any other souvenir and turn it into wall art:

The Glam Lamb: An Art-y Idea!: http://theglamlamb.blogspot.com/2010/04/art-y-idea.html

 

 

 

Adults

There are 12 gifts and decorating ideas at this site using Dollar Store items. Some can be done at the last minute.

12 Easy Last Minute Handmade Holiday Gift Ideas:  http://www.madiganmade.com/2011/12/12-easy-last-minute-handmade-holiday.html

Gift baskets are always fun to do, and you can specialize your basket.  Cooking, crafting, and golfing are some examples of themes. This site has several ways to put a basket together, along with holiday bags and cans.

How to Make a Christmas Gift Basket:  http://getitdone.hubpages.com/hub/How-to-Make-a-Christmas-Gift-Basket

Image from:  flickr.com

Image from: flickr.com

These sites has some wonderful ideas on filling Mason jars with gift items:

Gifts in Jars Recipes:  http://thefrugalgirls.com/gifts-in-jars-recipes

Mason Jar Recipes:  Holiday Ideas for Gifts in a Jar:  http://christmas.organizedhome.com/crafts/gifts-in-a-jar/recipe-index

Homemade coupon books are another great idea. They also can be tailored for the person you are giving the gift to. Check out these two sites for some samples of “coupon gifts”:

10 Free Christmas Gift Ideas:  http://voices.yahoo.com/10-free-christmas-gift-ideas-81063.html?cat=46

Coupon Book Template:  http://picsbox.biz/key/coupon%20book%20template

Instructions, plus other coupon ideas, for the Holiday Coupon Book can be found at:

DIY Holiday Coupon Book:  http://www.oneartsymama.com/2011/12/diy-holiday-coupon-book.html

 

Parents

Here are some wonderful gifts you can make for your kids:

Brassy Apple: Lap Desk Tutorial: http://www.brassyapple.com/2011/08/lap-desk-tutorial-pleased-as-punch.html

21 Gifts Parents Can Make for Kids: http://www.thecraftycrow.net/2011/11/21-gifts-parents-can-make-for-kids.html

More Homemade Fun: http://www.modernparentsmessykids.com/2011/06/more-homemade-fun.html

Image from:  flickr.com

Image from: flickr.com

Got a Star Wars fan on your list?  Make them something Jedi-worthy with household items:

Stormtrooper Helmet Created Entirely Out of a Milk Jug: http://www.bitrebels.com/geek/stormtrooper-helmet-tutorial/

How to Make a Star Wars Inspired Lightsaber from Pool Noodles: http://spoonful.com/crafts/how-make-star-wars-inspired-lightsaber-pool-noodles

Give the gift of sharing fun experiences together!

Parent & Child Date Coupons—A Year of Dates Gift: http://lets-explore.net/blog/2011/12/a-year-of-dates/

Here’s a toddler friendly version of Jenga that’s very easy to make:

Toddler Approved!: Sponge Tower Time: http://www.toddlerapproved.com/2011/07/sponge-tower-time.html

Now that you’ve made the gift, here are some tips to wrap it up!

How to make a gift bow: http://www.100layercake.com/blog/2011/12/06/how-to-make-a-gift-bow/?referrer=LuxeFinds.com

FREE PRINTABLE CHRISTMAS GIFT TAGS: http://www.kellimurray.com/2012/12/02/free-printable-christmas-gift-tags/

10 Eco-Friendly Alternatives to Wrapping Paper:  http://www.treehugger.com/culture/10-eco-friendly-alternatives-to-wrapping-paper.html

Cards

Image from:  flickr.com

Image from: flickr.com

You can make your own unique Holiday cards for someone special in your life. Check out the nice ones at this site:

Make Your Own Christmas Cards:  http://www.bhg.com/christmas/cards/make-your-own-christmas-cards/

Or at this site, you can customize your own card using photos on your electronic devices. Just pick out a template and drag your photos in. Go to:

Christmas Cards-Design Christmas Photo Cards Online for Free:  http://www.fotor.com/creatives/photo-cards/christmas-cards

Holiday Decorating Ideas

 

For Holiday decorating ideas, including table settings and center pieces, try:

Christmas Crafts & Decorating:  http://www.sheknows.com/holidays-and-seasons/christmas-crafts-decorating/articles

You can also decorate your own holiday stockings. There are several ideas at:

20 Ways to Make Your Own Holiday Stockings:  http://www.brit.co/20-creative-christmas-stockings/

Image from:  flickr.com

Image from: flickr.com

HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ALL!

Tags: ,