January Pathfinders: Have some fun in 2015

What would you like to do in 2015? Let’s look at some possibilities, nothing too strenuous, just fun.

WINTER

Here’s a list of some upcoming books for 2015. Having a snowy, January afternoon read is always fun.

http://ibbookmarked.blogspot.com/p/books-of-2015.html

And here’s a list of great books to read with your kids this winter.

Image from:  buzzfeed.com

Image from: buzzfeed.com

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mallorymcinnis/books-to-read-with-kids-in-2015

Be sure to check out the Library’s new catalog to see what’s “hot” in the collection. Having a new book to read by a favorite author is like having Christmas all over again.
Books that will be coming out as movies in 2015 are listed at these sites:

    http://www.ibtimes.com/books-being-made-movies-2015-8-titles-you-have-read-they-hit-theaters-1743100

15 book-to-film adaptations coming in 2015

http://www.csmonitor.com/Books/2014/0604/15-book-to-film-adaptations-coming-in-2015/The-Last-Apprentice-by-Joseph-Delaney

8 Books to Read Before they Become Movies in 2015

http://www.csmonitor.com/Books/2014/0604/15-book-to-film-adaptations-coming-in-2015/The-Last-Apprentice-by-Joseph-Delaney

Of course you will need some snacks while watching the movies. This next site has 51 different snacks you can try.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/articles/50-after-school-snacks/50-quick-snack-recipes.html

There are some things to do that can only happen in the winter. With plenty of snow on the ground, this site will give you lots of winter activities and adventures for all places in Maine.

http://www.visitmaine.com/things-to-do/outdoor-activities/winter-activities/

If you’re going for a walk in the woods, use this animal track identifying guide to see what types of animals are about.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&ved=0CC8QFjAF&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.oyccweb.com%2Fuploads%2F2%2F6%2F4%2F4%2F26442920%2Fanimal_track_id_guide.pdf&ei=rVmLVIzcB4S_sQS3_4HYAg&usg=AFQjCNFkcexT-S7dYJaVTm6rgjY4x4KDXw&sig2=HRFRIoTqH-Mb4wn-UVUMxw&bvm=bv.81828268,d.cWc

Or take along a handy chart from this site:

http://www.yankeemagazine.com/article/10things-interact-2-3/identify-animal-tracks

But, be sure to stop and make some snow angels before going in (for some nice hot chocolate) .  See the site below to find a great recipe.

http://www.recipe.com/recipes/drinks/chocolate/hotchocolate/popular/?ordersrc=google1hot    chocolate

More things to do this winter:

Ellsworth Adult Education:  About:  http://ellsworth.maineadulted.org/about/

Maine Festivals, Craft Shows, Art Fairs, and Events:  http://www.fairsandfestivals.net/states/ME/

Astronomy Calendar of Celestial Events for Calendar Year 2015

http://www.seasky.org/astronomy/astronomy-calendar-2015.html

Image from:  greatmaineoutdoorweekend.org

Image from: greatmaineoutdoorweekend.org

2015 MAINE: January – March 2015  Food & Wine Festivals, Shows, Events

http://www.foodreference.com/html/maine-january-march.html

February 13-15, 2015 Great Maine Outdoor Weekend:  http://greatmaineoutdoorweekend.org/events/

Solar Eclipse of March 20, 2015 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solar_eclipse_of_March_20,_2015

 

SPRING

Ahh, spring is here again; you can look forward to all kinds of fun stuff. It’s time to plan activities for better weather. You can begin by starting to plan the garden. These sites will help you begin.

http://www.garden.org/articles/articles.php?q=show&id=158

http://www.happydancingturtle.org/index.php/about-us-mainmenu-3/volunteer/95-tours/1375-organic-gardening

And this site lists all the gardens you can visit in Maine. It would be fun to sit down and select a few.  There are several in our local area.

http://www.ilovegardens.com/Maine%20Gardens.htm

All kinds of special events take place all over our area. The Grand always has a full listing. Check it out at:

http://grandonline.org/

The Collins Center for the Arts in Orono looks like it has a full listing for 2015. There is some unusual events listed (how about The Ukulele group on April 23?). Check it out at:

http://www.collinscenterforthearts.com/season.php

For other things happening all over Maine, go to this site to find events, festivities and performing arts.

http://www.maine.info/index.php

Image from examiner.com

Image from examiner.com

May 29-30: Relay for Life of Hancock County, Maine https://www.facebook.com/hancockmerelay

SUMMER

Finally, Summer is here. Beautiful day for a picnic. Go to this site for some great make-ahead ideas. http://www.mrfood.com/Editors-Picks/Perfect-Picnic-Menu-53-Make-Ahead-Picnic-Recipes

Maine St. Andrews Pipes & Drums are based in Ellsworth and schedule several events in our area. Check their website to catch one of their performances (they usually have one on the library lawn, too).

http://www.msapd.org/

The “Out and About”  insert that is  published every month by the local paper, The Ellsworth American, always  lists events taking place in the summer and articles of interest. You can pick a copy up here at the library, or access it online at:

http://www.ellsworthchamber.org/Events.aspx

Sunday, June 14, 2014

copyright 2014 E. Henry

copyright 2014 E. Henry

Mark your calendar for Ellsworth Public Library’s Rainbow Readers Race!  This color run 5K will be lots of fun and benefit a great cause:  the library’s building and restoration fund.

https://www.facebook.com/rainbowreadersrace

The Maine Windjammer Association:  2015 Special Events

http://www.sailmainecoast.com/plan-your-trip/special-events

PortConMaine:  http://www.portconmaine.com/web/index.php/convention-info

For fans of The Fault in Our Stars, the movie Paper Towns (another John Green adaptation) premieres in June:
Paper Towns (2015):  http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3622592/

FALL

Image from:  sataikasia.deviantart.com

Image from: sataikasia.deviantart.com

For fall, check out some of the foliage tours that can be found throughout the state.

http://www.maine.gov/dacf/mfs/projects/fall_foliage/whenandwhere/eastern.html

http://www.yankeefoliage.com/drives/maine/all

http://www.wildcenter.org/visit

For fans of The Invention of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck:

Book Buzz exclusive: New Brian Selznick book

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/books/2014/11/13/brian-selznick-the-marvels-hugo-cabret/18850641/

Maine Events:  September Festivals http://www.maine.info/events/festivals/september.php

This site will provide you with lots of activities in New England for every season in 2015. See their month-to-month guide at:

http://www.discovernewengland.org/new-england-events/january-2015/

And this one will provide you with Maine events.

http://www.visitmaine.com/things-to-do/events/

Here’s to a happy, healthy, 2015!

Tags: , , ,