July Pathfinders: Science

This year’s summer reading programs is science-based. The children’s program is entitled “FIZZ, BOOM, READ” and some of the Summer Delight events will have a science theme. The teen reading program is “SPARK A REACTION” (see the winning teen movie on our website) and there will be prizes for the teens along the way. Adult readers can participate in “LITERARY ELEMENTS” and there are several author programs scheduled for the summer. Stop by the library for a full listing of events or check our online calendar.

Kids

Here are some fun experiments and projects you can try at home:

How to Make a Mini Robot:  http://www.redtedart.com/2011/12/30/how-to-make-a-mini-robot/

Build Balance Magic:  http://pbskids.org/designsquad/build/balance-magic/

Balloon fizz-inflator experiment:  http://www.kidspot.com.au/kids-activities-and-games/Science-experiments+10/balloon-fizz-inflator-experiment+11740.htm

Image from:  http://www.sciencefun.org/kidszone/trivia/

Image from: http://www.sciencefun.org/kidszone/trivia/

Science Fun for Everyone:  http://www.sciencefun.org/kidszone/trivia/

Discovery Kids:  http://discoverykids.com/

Scientific Method Printables:  http://thecraftyclassroom.com/blog/2011/08/11/scientific-method-printables/

 

Teens

Image from:  mentalfloss.com

Image from: mentalfloss.com

Do you hate getting a bowl full of cereal dust?  There’s a scientifically proven method to solve this problem:

7 Scientific Solutions for Annoying Little Problems:  http://mentalfloss.com/article/57344/7-scientific-solutions-annoying-little-problems

You’ve memorized the periodic table in Chemistry class.  Here are some fun variations on that model:

9 Periodic Table Parodies:  http://mentalfloss.com/article/48677/9-periodic-table-parodies

Periodic Text Message Table:  http://labfive.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/periodictextmessagetbl.jpg

Ever wonder what is going on when you make scrambled eggs?  Click here to find out:

The Accidental Scientist:  Science of Cooking:  http://www.exploratorium.com/cooking/eggs/index.html

Check out this great science resource:

Kids.gov Teens Science:  http://kids.usa.gov/teens/science/

Vi Hart usually talks about math (and sometimes music) in her videos.  Here’s her take on sound:

Image from:  privateline.com

Image from: privateline.com

What is up with Noises? (The Science and Mathematics of Sound, Frequency, and Pitch):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_0DXxNeaQ0

Do you need a refresher on chemistry, biology, or ecology?  Listen to Hank Green as he teaches a crash course in science:

Crash Course:  Chemistry:  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8dPuuaLjXtPHzzYuWy6fYEaX9mQQ8oGr

Crash Course:  Biology:  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3EED4C1D684D3ADF

Crash Course: Ecology:  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8dPuuaLjXtNdTKZkV_GiIYXpV9w4WxbX

And, of course, we should all know the physics of break-dancing (another science). Go to this site to learn it.

Physics of Breakdancing:  http://studentreader.com/physics-of-breakdancing/

And go to this site to see how to actually perform these fun breakdancing moves, go to:

Physics of Twerking:  http://prezi.com/ikw5-9dow2y_/breakdancing/

Adults

Ellsworth Public Library has both books and magazines to explore some of the different types of sciences and what may be available in the future. To see what the future of science will bring us, go to:

Speculations on the Future of Science:  http://edge.org/conversation/speculations-on-the-future-of-science

For a fun movie to watch about the possible future, try “Robot and Frank” available here at the library.  Click here to read more about this movie on IMDB:  http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1990314/

Image from:  lincevioleta.deviantart.com

Image from: lincevioleta.deviantart.com

Then there are sites that will tell you about the science of reading. Try these two:

Knowledge:  The Science of Reading:  http://readingmatterstomaine.org/knowledge-the-science-of-reading/

Unexpected Revelations on Reading – From the New Science of Physical Intelligence:  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/thalma-lobel/unexpected-revelations-on_b_5226519.html

For a genre table put together like the elements of a scientific periodic table, go to this site:

Book Genre Periodic Table:  http://unmeashunconference2012.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/book-genre-periodic-table/

Like reading, there is the science for making music. Check it out at:

Science of Music:  http://www.exploratorium.edu/music/

This site will provide you with the idea of movement as it is related to exercise and good health. Learn more at:

Movement Sciences:  http://www.movementsciencesma.com/

There are many sites that will give you many facts and trivia about science. There are also quizzes you and your kids can take to see how knowledgeable you are about the many sciences. Check this fellow’s quiz out at the first website.

Quizzes – Miscellaneous Science:  http://www.funtrivia.com/quizzes/sci__tech/miscellaneous_science.html

Science Trivia Quiz #4:  http://chemistry.about.com/od/testsquizzes/l/blsciencequiz4.htm

Parents

Image from:  en.wikipedia.org

Image from: en.wikipedia.org

No matter the age of your child, it is never too early to get them interested in science. For the real little ones, try this one:

Science Activities for Babies and Toddlers:   http://www.pbs.org/parents/education/science/activities/babies-toddlers/

Or, for the older child, try:

Science for Young Children:  http://www.hometrainingtools.com/a/science-for-young-children-teaching-tip

This site will show you how to help your child with a science project, go to:

How to Help Your Science Student:  http://www.sciencebuddies.org/science-fair-projects/parents_howtohelp.shtml

For some fun science experiments you can do with your kids, try these sites:

Top 10 Coolest Home Science Experiments:  http://listverse.com/2007/12/03/top-10-coolest-home-science-experiments/

24 Kids’ Science Experiments That Adults Can Enjoy, Too:  http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/kids-science-experiments-that-adults-can-enjoy-too

52 Totally Awesome Science Experiments You Can Do At Home:  http://phlebotomytechnicianschools.com/52-totally-awesome-science-experiments-you-can-do-at-home

Here are some great ideas for activities to go along with this year’s summer reading theme:

Fizz Boom Read!  R U Curious?  http://fizzboomread.weebly.com/ru-curious.html

 

Tags: